How To Delete Or Deactivate Instagram Account

Delete Or Deactivate Instagram Account

How to Deactivate Instagram Account? (Temporarily)

You can not deactivate your Instagram account from the app, for that you have to go to the Instagram website through a web browser on your desktop or mobile.

This process is suitable for those who want to temporarily disable Instagram account and intend to come back after a few days or weeks.

Steps to deactivate Instagram account:

  1. Visit Instagram login page - Instagram login
  2. If you are not already logged in, enter your login details to enter your account.
  3. Go to the top right corner, where you will find the 'profile icon', which will be displayed by the 'Head and Shoulder' picture.
  4. Now click on the 'Edit Profiles' option.
  5. Go to the bottom of the page and on the left you will see - Temporarily disable my account. Click on it.
  6. Instagram will ask you why are you disabling your account? ', As well as many answers given in the drop-down menu. Chose one of them.
  7. Re-enter your password.
  8. Click the 'Temporarily Disable Account' button and your account will be disabled until you want to activate it again. 
Remember it takes a few hours for the deactivation.

How to Delete Instagram Account? (Permanently)

For this purpose, you also have to go to the Instagram website through a desktop browser because you can not delete it through the app.

Steps to delete Instagram account:

  1. Visit Instagram's Delete Your Account page.
  2. If you are not already logged in then login to your Instagram account.
  3. Now, Instagram will ask you why you are removing your account? With the drop-down answer menu. Choose fitting answers.
  4. Now you have to re-enter your account password to proceed.
  5. To permanently delete your Instagram account, click the button labeled 'Delete my account permanently'. Remember that you do not have to go back here, so be sure to copy the images and videos that you want to save for the future. Also, consider whether you want to delete your account before clicking on this option so that you do not feel regret later.
Deleting your Instagram account will go away forever, while deactivating it will be temporarily disabled. A deactivate account can be opened again in easy steps. All you have to do is visit the Instagram website or download the app on your device and log in using your account details. Your profile will be back and forth where you left it.