How To Manage Instagram Privacy Settings

Manage Instagram Privacy Settings

When you create your Instagram account and start posting pictures and videos, by default the app sets your profile and posts as 'Public'. By following some important privacy settings, you can easily limit viewers. Here you will find out how to manage Instagram privacy settings and make the Instagram account private:

1- Switch to Private Account

For Android:
  • Open the Instagram app from your device home screen.
  • Tap the 'Profile' button by going to the lower right corner. The 'profile' button icon is in the form of a human silhouette.
  • Go to the top right corner, where you'll find the settings icon (it's a three-dot vertical icon on Android) Tap on this icon.
  • The settings page will present many options. Scroll down. 'Tap on the switches of a personal account This icon will turn blue, to ensure that your account is now private and your posts will only be seen by your followers.
For Laptops and Desktops:
  • Login to your Instagram account, Go to your Profile ➡ Click on setting ➡ Privacy and Security ➡ Private Account.

2- Similar Account Suggestions (Desktops Only)

When a person follows on your Instagram profile, they will see suggestions of similar profiles, which they also want to follow, such as mutual friends or other people they know. If you do not want these suggestions to appear on your profile, you can choose the option of:
  • Log in to Instagram.com from a desktop computer or from your phone's browser.
  • Tap or click the profile icon at the top right, then select Edit profile.
  • Tap or click next to similar account suggestions, then click submit.

3- Activity Status & Story Sharing (Desktops Only)

Those people you follow or talk directly to them, they can see that when you were last active on Instagram, you can change the visibility of your activity at any time.

To change the visibility of your activity status:
  • Go to your profile and tap on menu.
  • Tap Settings ➡ Privacy and Security.
  • Disable Activity Status or Allow Sharing.
Keep in mind that when you turn off the status of your activity, you will not be able to see anyone else.

Some important tips for managing your Instagram account privacy

  • Be sure to include only the necessary details in your Instagram profile, and do not divide too much information to protect your personal data.
  • When you post them, Instagram pins your photos on a map, which is available to anyone after you. It exposes details about where you are with your home address. This is something you can not be comfortable with. So make sure to not include your photos in the Instagram map feature. When you are posting, you can do so by not checking the 'Add to your Photo Map' message from the Instagram on the final confirmation page.
  • If you want to make your post safer and only make available to some select people, you can take advantage of the 'Instagram Direct' feature. While posting, tap the on 'Direct' feature on the final information page, and select the follower from the list to share only your picture with them.